Asbestos is a term used for a number of naturally occurring minerals which are made up of small crystallised fibres. There are six regulated types of asbestos, but the three main types in use in the UK are:

  • Crocidolite (blue)
  • Amosite (brown) and
  • Chrysotile (white).

Asbestos Containing Materials (ACMs) were widely used in the construction industry throughout the 20th century due to their high tensile strength and chemical, electrical and heat resistance. The peak of asbestos import and use was between 1955 and 1980 (approximately 45% of SNH’s stock was built during this period) and many homes across the UK in both the private and social housing sectors contain asbestos.

Although asbestos is a hazardous material, it is only dangerous if the fibres become airborne and are then inhaled. ACMs will only release fibres into the air if disturbed and it is important to note that when in good condition, ACMs are not considered an immediate risk to health. Asbestos should therefore always be handled carefully and treated with the utmost caution.

Aragon Housing Association, in recognition of its duties under the Health and Safety at Work Act 1974 towards its tenants, employees, visitors, contractors, customers and members of the public, undertakes to protect all persons on its premises from asbestos exposure by ensuring safe premises and systems of work, so far as is reasonably practicable. The Association will operate in accordance with all current legislation and approved codes of practice.

If you think you have disturbed or damaged asbestos in your home please contact us.

Report an error on this page

Report error

Please fill out the form with details of the error.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.